My Name Is Luigi

Luigi 4Through the course of the days, weeks, months, and years, I have been asked where the nickname Luigi comes form. So, here are a couple of paragraphs sharing how I inherited it.

About 20 years ago I usually took an extended summertime vacation or concentrated on working close to home and also volunteered at Fireman’s Fairs by running a Barbeque Pit.

Like all good entrepreneurs, I needed a hook. In my case it was dressing entirely in white. From a toque or chef’s hat, a white T-shirt, white shorts, and white walking shoes. It worked pretty well and since I did a mean menu, I was kept busy cooking up ribs, chicken breasts, sausages, and other meats that the locals might decide they wanted as Barbeque.

Also about that time, the video game of Mario Brothers had been just released and a local fire chief who had purchased the game decided that I did look like Mario’s’ Brother Luigi.

So, I picked up the moniker, little kids, who had trouble pronouncing Luigi, started calling me Weegee, and it grew from there. Very good friends started calling me Wege and fast became an identifying persona.

Along about that time, I realized there was another Don in the business and a few distant relations with the same name. Today, as an Identifier it has become who I am.

Simple nickname that stuck to me more firmly than any other I picked up through the years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

